OSA Today

Honors & Awards


First Leith Award Goes to Lohmann

OSA President Rod Alferness presented the inaugural Emmett Leith Medal to Adolf W. Lohmann for his seminal contributions to the fields of optical information processing and holography. The award was given during an event organized by the Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light at the University of Erlangen-N├╝rnberg and the OSA Student Chapter at the Institute. Lohmann is a retired professor at the University of Erlangen.

Payne Awarded Marconi Prize

OSA member David Payne has won the 2008 Marconi Society Prize and Fellowship. Payne is the director of the Optoelectronics Research Centre at the University of Southampton. He was awarded the 2008 prize for his work in fiber optoelectronics and fiber telecommunications, the backbone of modern high speed data transmission.

Students Win FiO Presentation Awards

Congratulations to the winners of the FiO student presentation awards, which were given to OSA student members who made exceptional presentations at this year’s annual meeting. There were 41 finalists selected from 200 participants. Two awards were given from each of seven subcommittees. The winners are: Christopher Barsi (Princeton Univ.); Matthew R. Bolcar (Univ. of Rochester); Pamela Bowlan (Georgia Tech); Daniel H. Broaddus (Cornell Univ.); Ksenia Dolgaleva (Univ. of Rochester); Sangwoo Ha (Australian Natl. Univ.); Shu Jia (Princeton Univ.); John Nguyen (Cornell Univ.); Sri Rama Prasanna Pavani (Univ. of Colorado at Boulder); Carmel Rotschild (Solid State Inst., Technion Israel); Can Sun (Princeton Univ.); Laura Waller (MIT); Xin Wei (Indiana Univ.); and Zhangyi Zhong (Indiana Univ.).

OSA Foundation

Thank You OSAF Contributors

The OSA Foundation sponsors a variety of programs that support youth education, professional development and recognition for technical and business excellence.

Thousands of individuals in more than 20 countries have benefited from OSAF programs. This work is possible thanks to the generosity of our donors. Please join us in extending special thanks to the organizations and individuals whose support is helping us to achieve our mission. Recent contributors include: Paul Crosby, Gary Duck, Manfred Heiting, Tomasz Jannson, Grace Klonoski, Adam Kozma, Los Alamos Optical Society, Peter W. Milonni, G. Michael Morris, Steven Charles Moss, Photon Gear Inc., David E. Pritchard, Elizabeth A. Rogan, Alexander Sawchuk, Koichi Shimoda and M. Suhail Zubairy.

If you would like to make a contribution, please visit www.osa-foundation.org/give.

Travel Log


OSA VP Attends EOS Annual Meeting

In September, OSA Vice President Jim Wyant (left) attended the annual meeting of the European Optical Society (EOS) in Paris. Pictured from left to right next to Jim: Hans-Peter Herzig, EOS president; Maria Yzuel, 2009 SPIE President; and Klaus Nowitzki, EOS Executive Director.

OSA Benefit Highlight

Emeritus Membership

OSA offers an emeritus membership category to those who have been a regular member or fellow member for at least 10 years and are fully retired. To qualify for emeritus membership, an individual’s age plus the number of years of OSA membership must equal at least 75.

Student Opportunities

New Master’s on Color in Informatics

The European consortium of the Master’s in “Color in Informatics and Media Technology” (CIMET) is recruiting students and scholars from around the globe to participate in the new program. CIMET is part of the prestigious Erasmus Mundus program, which promotes the European Union as a center of excellence in the world. Four European universities (Saint-Etienne; Granada; Joensuu; Gjovik) have combined their skills and knowledge to offer this Master course. Grants and scholarships are available. For more information, e-mail cimet@ligiv.org or visit www.master-erasmusmundus-color.eu.

Policy Opportunities

Spend a Year on Capitol Hill

If you’d like to apply your scientific background to policy decisions in the U.S. government, consider applying for OSA’s Congressional Fellowship program. OSA hosts two fellowships—one jointly with the Materials Research Society and another with SPIE. The fellowships are designed to provide a unique way for physicists and engineers to get involved in the policymaking process on Capitol Hill.

Beginning each September, Fellows spend one year working as special legislative assistants to the staffs of Congress members or congressional committees. The deadline for applications is Jan. 9, 2009. Salary information, application requirements and other details can be found at www.osa.org/newscongressionalfellowships.

Susannah Lehman is OSA's publications coordinator.

Publish Date:

OSA Today

Become a member or log in to view the full text of this article.

OSA Members get the full text of Optics & Photonics News, plus a variety of other member benefits.

Publish Date:

Add a Comment