Member News


Welcome New Editors

We are happy to announce that the following individuals were recently appointed as new editors for OSA journals: Applied Optics: Nanguang Chen, National University of Singapore. JOCN: Pat Iannone, Alcatel-Lucent Bell Labs, U.S.A. (co-Editor-in-Chief). Optica: Miguel Alonso, University of Rochester, U.S.A.; Connie Chang-Hasnain, University of California, Berkeley, U.S.A.; Steven Cundiff, NIST, U.S.A.; Michael Downer, University of Texas, U.S.A.; Daniel Gauthier, Duke University, U.S.A.; Henry Kapteyn, University of Colorado, U.S.A.; Martii Kauranen, Tampere University of Technology, Finland; Thomas Krauss, York University, U.K.; Susana Marcos, Instituto de Optica, Spain; Curtis Menyuk, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, U.S.A.; Yehiam Prior, Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel; Henry van Driel, University of Toronto, Canada; Hailin Wang, University of Oregon, U.S.A.; Martin Wegener, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany. Optics Express: Lan Yang, Washington University in St. Louis, U.S.A.; Michalis Zervas, University of Southampton, U.K. Optical Materials Express: Kenneth Schepler, University of Central Florida, U.S.A.

We would also like to thank the following editors for renewing their appointments: JOSA B: Maria Bondani, National Research Council – CNR, Italy; Igor Smolyaninov, BAE Systems North America, U.S.A. Optics Letters: Andrea Armani, University of Southern California, U.S.A.; John Ballato, Clemson University, U.S.A.; Alexandra Boltasseva, Purdue University, U.S.A.; Mikhail Brodsky, AT&T Labs, U.S.A.; Fabio Di Teodoro, Northrop Grumman Space Tech., U.S.A.; Irina Novikova, College of William and Mary, U.S.A.

Honors & Awards

Xie Wins Lippincott Award 

The 2013 Lippincott Award, given annually to an outstanding vibrational spectroscopist, was presented to Sunney Xie, Harvard University, U.S.A., at a joint meeting of the North Eastern Section, The Optical Society (NES/OSA), and the New England Section of the Society for Applied Spectroscopy (NE SAS) on 12 March 2014 by Phil Malyak (NES/OSA), Mary Kate Donais (NE SAS) and Ellen Miseo (The Coblentz Society). The meeting was hosted and sponsored by Thermo Fisher Scientific at their Portable Analytical Instruments Center of Excellence in Tewksbury, Mass., U.S.A. Xie’s Lippincott address was entitled “Label-Free Vibrational Imaging for Biology and Medicine.” Stimulated Raman scattering microscopy is a label-free and noninvasive imaging technique that uses vibration spectroscopy as the contrast mechanism. Significant advances in sensitivity, selectivity, robustness and cost reduction have been made recently, allowing many biomedical applications.

Regional News

First North African Workshop on Optics 

OSA  sponsored the first North African Workshop on Optics  in March 2014 in Hammamet, Tunisia. This workshop brought together optical scientists from North Africa to discuss devices, solutions and architectures for all-optical networks, as well as optimization and management of optical networks. OSA student prizes were awarded to Hasna Kilani, Polytechnic School of Tunis, Tunisia, and Amira Baili and Abir Hraghi, Engineering School of Communications, Tunisia. 

Benefit Highlight

Meeting Discounts

OSA Members can register to attend high-quality meetings at reduced rates. OSA-hosted meetings feature programming vetted by experts and provide you with exclusive access to cutting-edge information. Please visit to view a list of upcoming events.


Thank You, Conference Organizers

Thank you to the meetings volunteers below for their support in producing outstanding programs, including the chairs for all the meetings in the Imaging and Applied Optics Congress and the hosts of the Quantum Biology incubator meeting.

Applied Industrial Optics: Spectroscopy, Imaging, and Metrology: Joseph Dallas, Avo Photonics Inc., U.S.A.; Jess Ford, Weatherford International Ltd., U.S.A.; Thomas Haslett, Avo Photonics Inc., U.S.A.; Sri Rama Prasanna Pavani, Arecont Vision, U.S.A.; Arel Weisberg, Energy Research Co., U.S.A.

Digital Holography & 3-D Imaging: Yoshio Hayasaki, Utsunomiya University, Japan; Hiroshi Yoshikawa, Nihon University, Japan; Changhe Zhou, Shanghai Institute of Optics and Fine Mechanics, China.

Digital Image Processing and Analysis: K. Vijayan Asari, University of Dayton, U.S.A.; Khan Iftekharuddin, Old Dominion University, U.S.A.

Imaging Systems and Applications: Michael Kriss, MAK Consultants, U.S.A.; Zeev Zalevsky, Bar-Ilan University, Israel; Kathrin Berkner, Ricoh Innovations Inc., U.S.A.; Byoungho Lee, Seoul National University, South Korea; Laura Waller, University of California, Berkeley, U.S.A.

Laser Applications to Chemical, Security and Environmental Analysis: John McManus, Aerodyne Research Inc., U.S.A.; Sukesh Roy, Spectral Energies LLC, U.S.A.; Waruna Kulatilaka, Spectral Energies LLC, U.S.A.; Grant Ritchie, University of Oxford, U.K.; Scott Sanders, University of Wisconsin-Madison, U.S.A.

Propagation Through and Characterization of Distributed Volume Turbulence: Julie Moses, U.S. Air Force Office of Scientific Research; Denis Oesch, LEIDOS, U.S.A.; Darryl Sanchez, U.S. Air Force Research Laboratory.

Signal Recovery & Synthesis: David Gerwe, Boeing - Phantomworks, U.S.A.; Edmund Lam, University of Hong Kong; George Barbastathis, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, U.S.A.; Gisele Bennett, Georgia Institute of Technology, U.S.A.; Christy Fernandez-Cull, MIT Lincoln Laboratory, U.S.A.

Quantum Biology: Hope Beier and Bennett Ibey, U.S. Air Force Research Laboratory.

Publish Date:

Member News

Become a member or log in to view the full text of this article.

OSA Members get the full text of Optics & Photonics News, plus a variety of other member benefits.

Publish Date:

Add a Comment