OSA Today


Board Update

Meet OSA's New VP and Board Members

Donna T. Strickland of the University of Waterloo in Ontario, Canada, has been elected as the 2011 OSA vice president. Three new directors at large were also chosen during this year's election: Naomi J. Halas of Rice University, Eric Mazur of Harvard University and Jannick P. Rolland of the University of Rochester's Institute of Optics. The directors at large will serve three-year terms on the OSA Board of Directors, 2011-2013.


Welcome New Editors

We are happy to announce that Alexander Lvovsky of the University of Calgary and Nicolae Panoiu of University College London have agreed to serve as new associate editors for Optics Express. We'd also like to welcome Olga Korotkova of the University of Miami and Michael Sumetsky of OFS Laboratories as new topical editors for Optics Letters. Lastly, we're glad that Lev Perelman of Harvard University has agreed to serve as a new associate editor for Biomedical Optics Express.

We are also grateful to the following editors for agreeing to serve second three-year terms: (for Optics Letters) Falk Ledere, Friedrich-Schiller-University Jena; Ranier Leitgeb, Medical University of Vienna; Alex Vitkin, University of Toronto; (for Applied Optics) Michael Gehm, University of Arizona and Kenneth Schepler, United States Air Force; (for JOSA A) Jeffrey Barcher, Nutronics, Inc.; Daniel F.V. James, University of Toronto; and (for Optics Express) Martin Booth of Oxford University. We thank these members of the optics community for their support of OSA journals..

In Gratitude

Thank You FiO 2010 Young Professional and Student Volunteers

Many volunteers helped make Frontiers in Optics 2010 a success, including a great number of young professional and student members. OSA and the OSA Foundation would like to thank the following individuals: Amy Sullivan, Agnes Scott College—Judge of "Feeding Young Minds," presider; Laura Waller, Princeton University and Stephen Roberson, Army Research Laboratory—official bloggers; Ksenia Dolgaleva, University of Toronto and Rui Zhang, Duke University—presiders; Frank Kuo, Newport Corporation—author of the research article Chemical Dynamics—Multi-Dimensional Ultrafast Spectroscopy I and II. Also thanks to Zahir Alam—student blogger; Kate Sloyan and Sam Schrauth—student "tweeters"; Rim Cherif, Roman Tsykliak, Carlos Rios, Lucia Saito and Megan Ivory—OSA Foundation booth staffers.

OSA Thanks Outgoing Chairs

OSA recognizes the dedicated service of a number of volunteers whose terms as committee/council chairs concluded in 2010: Tony Heinz, Awards Committee; Robert Norwood, Fellow Members Committee; Satoshi Kawata, International Council; Edward Watson, Meetings Council; Rod Alferness, Nominating Committee; Alex Fong, Public Policy Committee; Govind Agrawal, Publications Council; and Glenn Boreman, Tellers Committee.

We'd like to recognize the new OSA committee/council chairs whose terms will begin in 2011: Donna Strickland, OSA's newly elected vice president, who also becomes chair of the Awards Committee; James Leger, Fellow Members Committee; Anderson Gomes, International Council; Laura Weller-Brophy, Meetings Council; Thomas Baer, Nominating Committee; Gregory Quarles, Public Policy Committee; Stephen A. Burns, Publications Council; and Ursula Gibson, Tellers Committee.

Student News

imageJulia Majors, University of California-Irvine, presents the chapter's winning demonstration "Filling Heads with 'Fruity' Light!

Univ. of California, Irvine wins Student Chapter Education Competition

OSA congratulates the finalists in this year's OSA Student Chapter competition, "Feeding Young Minds." The contest was sponsored by Newport Corporation, and this year's challenge focused on youth education, with the added twist of incorporating food into the entries. The first-place entry received a $500 prize for the chapter; two runners-up received $100. First prize went to the University of California, Irvine chapter, with their entry "Filling Heads with 'Fruity' Light!" Students could turn knobs to make a table tennis ball's color change to match the desired fruit colors. The runners-up were the University of Arizona, with their entry "Jell-O Optics," and Université Laval, with their entry about the Photonics Games.

Announcing IONS-9

OSAL Student Chapter is pleased to announce that the next IONS meeting will be held in Salamanca (Spain), 7-9 April 2011. The meeting is organized by students from Universidad de Salamanca and Centro de Láseres Pulsados.

Program highlights include invited talks, students' technical talks and posters, a student chapter session, laboratory tours and a social day in Salamanca. Registration is free and open. The submission deadline is 25 February. For more information, please visit www.ions-project.org or follow IONS-9 on Facebook.

imageLiz Rogan and Jim Gordon

Honors and Awards

Gordon Made Honorary Member

James P. Gordon has been elected as an OSA honorary member by OSA's Board of Directors. He was chosen for his numerous seminal contributions to quantum electronics and photonics, including the first demonstration of the maser. Honorary membership is OSA's highest honor.

Local News

Welcome Northern California Local Section

OSA is pleased to announce the re-establishment of the Northern California Local Section of OSA. According to Joe Armstrong, KLA-Tencor, interim president: "With guidance and support from the Bay Area optics community, we can establish an OSA section that provides benefit to its members in industry and at universities." To get involved, please e-mail Joe at ncal.osa@gmail.com or visit osa.braveline.com/ncal/.

OSSC Receives Award, Celebrates 60 Years

On October 25, 2010, the Optical Society of Southern California (OSSC) received a local section Excellence Award from the OSA. The award was announced during the plenary session at this year's Frontiers in Optics meeting held in Rochester, N.Y., U.S.A. It is a fitting tribute to the chapter as it reaches its 60th anniversary this year.

With the Excellence Award, OSA recognizes outstanding sections in the areas of advocacy, youth education and professional development programming. In addition to the prestigious award certificate, the OSSC received $1,000 to further promote awareness of the organization.

"It is a great honor for the OSSC to be recognized and to receive this award in the academic year when we are celebrating the OSSC's 60 years of service to the optical community," says Valentina Doushkina, current 2010-11 OSSC President. For more information, visit www.ossc.org.


Lynne Sturtz is OSA’s contributing editor.

Publish Date:

OSA Today

Become a member or log in to view the full text of this article.

OSA Members get the full text of Optics & Photonics News, plus a variety of other member benefits.

Publish Date:

Add a Comment