OSA Today




Middle-School Teachers: Contact Us for a Free Laser Activity Kit

The "Laser Days in the Classroom" Activity Kit is sponsored by Lockheed Martin and LaserFest. It includes a series of easy-to-demonstrate laser-related educational activities that are targeted to middle-school students. The demonstrations illustrate how regular light differs from laser light; how to use a laser to transmit sound; and how to measure a hair's width with a laser. Other classroom materials include posters, stickers, comic books, and playing cards.

Only 200 kits are available; we will give one kit per name and address in order to distribute the kit as widely as possible. Please send the following information to info@LaserFest.org: your name, shipping address, e-mail, phone number, the name of your school, and the grade level for which you intend to distribute the kit. For more information about LaserFest, visit www.laserfest.org.

OSA Foundation News


Congrats to Inaugural Jean Bennett Travel Grant Recipient

The OSA Foundation (OSAF) presented the first Jean Bennett Memorial Student Travel Grant to Tongcang Li from the University of Texas at Austin, U.S.A. during the OSAF Chairman's Breakfast, which took place during the Frontiers in Optics (FiO) conference. This grant program was established in memory of Jean M. Bennett, a highly decorated research physicist and OSA's first female president. Li was selected as the winner from more than 80 applicants who presented their work during the conference.

The OSAF congratulates Li and extends a special thank you to our contributors and to the 2010 Bennett Memorial Student Travel Grant Review Committee: Matthieu Baudelet, Joe Carroll, Wei Ding, Prasoon Diwakar, He Gao, Bahareh Haji-Saeed, Nan Hua, Xiaojing Huang, Haifeng Huang, Young-Jin Kim, Christopher LaFratta, Pengfei Lan, Yin-Wen Lee, Odile Liboiron-Ladouceur, Le Luo, Jeremy Murray-Krezan, Yoshi Okawachi, Prasanna Pavani, Jiahui Peng, David Scherer, Mohan Shankar, Liyang Shao, Rakesh Singh, Donna Strickland, Jeffrey Taylor, Fatima Toor, Victor Torres Company, Alessandro Vilar, Giovanni Volpe, Laura Waller, Yongchang Wang, Megan Winn, Chen Xu, Liang Xue, Scott Yam, Zongfu Yu, Rui Zhang, Ming Zhao, Miaochan Zhi and Xiushan Zhu.

If you would like to support this program or other Foundation initiatives please visit: www.osa-foundation.org/give.


Check Out New OSA Foundation Website

The OSA Foundation launched a new website that features information about its many programs, grants and success stories. The site also describes ways that OSA members can help to inspire the next generation of science leaders through volunteer activities or by making a financial contribution. We hope you will visit us often at www.osa-foundation.org.

Rochester Local Section Hosts Science Educators' Day

The Rochester Local Section of OSA worked overtime to ensure that teachers attending Science Educators' Day (EDAY) 2010 had an excellent experience. This year, the EDAY event included demonstrations, hands-on workshops, raffle prizes, dinner, networking and a large bag full of education materials and lesson plans&—all free to attendees. OSA's membership and education department extends heartfelt thanks to David Berg, Jennifer Kruschwitz, Per Adamson, Amber Beckley, Ron Jodois, Andrew Berger, Marcelo Guimaraes, Jessica DeGroote Nelson, Thomas Brown, Andrew Davidhazy, Lukas Novotny and Judy Donnelly for their time and dedication.

OSA Benefit Highlight

Request Your OSA Senior Member Designation

OSA Senior Membership provides well-established individuals with the opportunity to request a designation that recognizes their experience, accomplishments and service within their field. In 2010, the OSA Board of Directors approved more than 160 OSA Senior Members. For details and to submit a designation request online, please visit the "Membership Categories" section of OSA.org. Requests must include two referrals from other OSA members. Completed submissions are due 28 February 2011 and will be reviewed by May 2011.


Welcome New Editors

We are happy to announce that Viktor Podolskiy of the University of Massachusetts, Lowell, and Saulius Juodkazis of Swinburne University of Technology have agreed to serve as new associate editors for Optics Express. Also, we'd like to welcome Xingde Li of Johns Hopkins University and Robert Nordstrom of the National Institutes of Health as new associate editors for Biomedical Optics Express. We thank these members of the optics community for their support of OSA journals.

Honors & Awards


Fellow Wins 2010 Forman Engineering Excellence Award

OSA congratulates Alan E. Willner of the University of Southern California, who was recently selected to receive the 2010 Paul F. Forman Engineering Excellence Award, which recognizes technical achievements in optical engineering. The 2010 Award will be presented at the award ceremony at FiO 2010 on 25 October in Rochester, N.Y., U.S.A. Willner will be recognized for technical advances in optical fiber communications technologies that have enabled major improvements in the performance and reliability of wavelength-division-multiplexed systems, and broadly based excellence in education in optical fiber telecommunications.

Lynne Sturtz is OSA’s contributing editor.

Publish Date:

OSA Today

Become a member or log in to view the full text of this article.

OSA Members get the full text of Optics & Photonics News, plus a variety of other member benefits.

Publish Date:

Add a Comment