OSA Today

Travel Log

OSA Leaders Attend Photonics 2008 in India

image(Left to right) Elizabeth Rogan, OSA Executive Director; Byoungho Lee, OSA Board member; Bhargab Das, IIT Delhi; Sunil Vyas, IIT Delhi; Rakesh Kumar Singh, IIT Delhi; Joseph Eberly, OSA 2007 President; Sachin Kumar Srivastava, IIT Delhi; Prem Kumar, Northwestern Univ.; Triranjita Srivastava, IIT Delhi; Nishant Kumar, CUSAT, Koche; and Siddharth R. Mambiar, TIFR Mumbai.

In December, OSA co-sponsored Photonics 2008—the International Conference on Fiber Optics and Photonics held in New Delhi, India. The three-day conference was chaired by Bishnu Pal, a member of OSA’s International Council and Anurag Sharma, both from IIT Delhi.

This bi-annual conference attracted more than 600 attendees, including OSA 2007 President Joseph Eberly, OSA Board members Alex Gaeta and Byoungho Lee, Board of Editors member Connie Chang-Hasnain, Publications Long-Term Planning Group member Prem Kumar, International Council members Silvano Donati and Anderson Gomes, Foundation Board member Yehiam Prior, Public Policy Committee member Peter Delfyett and OSA Executive Director Elizabeth Rogan.

Joseph Eberly and Prem Kumar each gave a plenary presentation, while Liz Rogan offered an overview of OSA’s membership, customers and its extensive programs and services. The three then met with student attendees to discuss the OSA Student Chapters’ educational outreach and the benefits of OSA student membership.

One of the social highlights of the conference was OSA’s member reception. More than 130 members joined the OSA delegation for lively conversation, food and drink. Everyone was excited to meet new colleagues, catch up with old friends and enjoy the evening’s festivities.

On the final night of the conference OSA, IEEE-LEOS and SPIE jointly recognized 16 outstanding students with awards for their papers. While in Delhi, the OSA delegation met with representatives from many Indian organizations to discuss the exciting research taking place in India.

The conference was a good example of the relevant work being done by scientists and engineers from India and around the globe.

Honors and Awards

Past President Named IEEE Fellow


Duncan Moore, OSA’s 1996 President, has been named a Fellow of the IEEE. Moore is a professor of optics, biomedical engineering and business administration at the University of Rochester in Rochester, N.Y., U.S.A.

IEEE Fellowship honors the endeavors of scientists and engineers who have made significant advances in engineering, science and technology, and those who have had a broad, positive impact on society. Moore has been recognized for his important work on gradient-index (or GRIN) optical systems and his contributions to optical technologies for the Hubble Space Telescope.

OSA Foundation

Your Support Needed for Jean Bennett Memorial Fund


The OSA Foundation has launched a fundraising campaign to establish a student travel grant named in memory of OSA's first female president, Jean M. Bennett.

Dr. Bennett was a highly decorated research physicist who made significant contributions to the study of optical surfaces. The annual travel grant will recognize the research excellence of a student presenting their work at the OSA Annual Meeting, "Frontiers in Optics." Please visit the foundation section of OSA.org to make an online contribution to the Bennett campaign.


Welcome New Editors

OSA is happy to announce that Partha Banerjee of the University of Dayton, Ohio, U.S.A., and Joseph Rosen of the Ben-Gurion University of the Negev in Beer-Sheba, Israel, have agreed to serve as topical editors for Applied Optics. Also, Maciej Wojtkowski of the Nicolaus Copernicus University in Torun, Poland, has joined the editorial board of Optics Express.

We thank these members of the optics community for their support of OSA journals.

OSA Benefit Highlight

Graduate to New Benefits

Attention graduating students: OSA offers a “Recent Graduate” membership category. Be sure to choose that option when you renew your membership in order to take advantage of the dues discount and special career-building benefits. To learn more, visit the “Member Categories” section of OSA.org.

Susannah Lehman is OSA's publications coordinator.

Publish Date:

OSA Today

Become a member or log in to view the full text of this article.

OSA Members get the full text of Optics & Photonics News, plus a variety of other member benefits.

Publish Date:

Add a Comment