Honorary Members of the 1950s

From its beginnings in 1916, the Optical Society has dedicated a special category of membership to individuals who have made unique, unparalleled contributions to the field of optics. This column highlights the careers of four optical pioneers who became honorary members during the 1950s: Frits Zernike (1954), Charles Edward Kenneth Mees (1957), Thomas Smith (1957) and William F. Meggers (1958).

Access to the full text of this article is restricted. In order to view this article please log in.

Add a Comment